Vinesh Phogat And Sakshi Malik Nominated For BBC

Others who made the cut were Tokyo Olympics silver medallist weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, ace shuttler PV Sindhu and boxer Nikhat Zareen.

Rupa Jha, the Head of India BBC News, announced that they have introduced a new award category — BBC Indian para-sportswoman of the year.


Ekta Bhyan, the 2018 Asian para Games gold medallist, welcomed the move and emphasised on the need to make the stadiums more accessible to physically challenged athletes.

“The stadiums and swimming pools should be accessible easily for disabled athletes.

“Sports should be a part of education. Why should disabled athletes start their careers at the age of 15 or 16, Sports should be accessible to them much earlier and there should be a comprehensive and non-discriminatory policy for the disabled,” she added.

Read more:

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article


Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.