Begin 2023 At United Cup In Australia

Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek will kick off their 2023 seasons at the United Cup in Australia, a new mixed teams event, but a host of top 10 players are skipping the tournament. The United Cup, with US$15 million in prize money and rankings points at stake, has replaced the men’s ATP Cup and will be held in Brisbane, Perth, and Sydney as a key build-up to the Australian Open Grand Slam. Eighteen countries will compete across 11 days from December 29, with each team comprising four men and four women with 500 WTA and 500 ATP rankings points available.

“The playing group is very excited about the United Cup, and that’s confirmed in the high quality and caliber of those who’ve committed to the event,” tournament director Stephen Farrow said Thursday.

“We are delighted with the depth and breadth of the teams, and we can look forward to many exciting matchups and lots of entertaining tennis.”

World number two and 22-time Grand Slam winner Nadal — the defending Australian Open champion — will headline Spain’s team along with 13th-ranked Paula Badosa. But Spanish world number one Carlos Alcaraz will not take part.

Top-ranked Swiatek will spearhead Poland alongside Hubert Hurkacz while world number three Jessica Pegula is on a United States team that also features Madison Keys, Taylor Fritz, and Frances Tiafoe.

Read more:

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article


Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.